Chairmen of municipalities determined in almost 80 Turkish provinces

Photo: Chairmen of municipalities determined in almost 80 Turkish provinces  / Politics

Baku, Azerbaijan, March 31

Chairmen of municipalities have been determined in 78 provinces of Turkey, according to unofficial data, Turkish Anadolu agency reported.

The candidates from the ruling Justice and Development Party won in around 49 provinces, candidates from the Republican People's Party won in some 12 provinces, Peace and Democracy Party candidates won in nine provinces, while candidates from the National Action Party won in seven provinces.

Mardin is the only province where an independent candidate won.

Vote counting continues in Antalya, Adana, Agri, Hatay and Eskishehr.

The municipal elections began in Turkey on March 30. The voting began at 07:00 and continued until 16:00 local time in the following districts: Adiyaman, Agri, Artvin, Bingol, Bitlis, Diyarbakir, Elazig, Erzincan, Erzurum, Gaziantep, Giresun, Gumushane, Hakkari, Kars, Malatya, Kahramanmaras, Mardin, Mus, Ordu, Rize, Siirt, Sivas, Trabzon, Tunceli, Sanlıurfa, Van, Bayburt, Batman, Sırnak, Ardahan, Igdır and Kilis.

In all other districts the elections were held between 08:00 and 17:00 local time.

The number of registered voters in Turkey is 52,695,831 people. Out of them, some 26,704,757 people are women and 25,991,750 people are men. Some 194,310 ballot boxes were installed throughout the country. Some 26 political parties participated in the municipal elections.

Translated by L.Z.

Edited by C.N.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency