Some 40 countries willing to join Free Trade Zone within Customs Union

Photo: Some 40 countries willing to join Free Trade Zone within Customs Union  / Kazakhstan

Astana, Kazakhstan, May 30
By Daniyar Mukhtarov - Trend

About 40 countries have already announced to join Free Trade Zone with Customs Union, Eurasian Integration Institute director Zhanargul Kusmangaliyeva said at the press conference in Astana on May 29.

She added that among the countries that wish to join the union, are Turkey, India, New Zealand, Vietnam.

She went on to add that cooperation is established with such structures as the EU, and Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

"But that is not all. South America's largest economic integration "Mercosur", has expressed its interest in establishing an unimpeded trade with the Eurasian Economic Union," Kusmangaliyeva said.

Mercosur or Mercosul is an economic and political agreement among Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela and Bolivia.

She noted that the Eurasian Economic Union is an open project, which involves cooperation with other regional integration organizations and entry of new participating countries in it.
Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan demonstrate willingness to join the Customs Union with the subsequent joining the Eurasian Economic Union," she said.

With regard to Kazakhstan's economic benefit from joining the Eurasian Economic Union, Kusmangaliyeva said that the union is "a safety system of the world economy, and a single strategic active base of different types".

"Today there are about 200 regional integration unions. And it's not just a latest trend, but an economic necessity, as it is well known that large markets show higher growth rates, and they are more resistant to fluctuations in global economic conditions," - said expert.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency