Tajik citizens vote in presidential elections in Baku

Photo: Tajik citizens vote in presidential elections in Baku 

 / Tajikistan

Baku, Azerbaijan, Nov. 6

By Saba Agayeva - Trend: Tajik citizens temporarily residing in Azerbaijan are voting in the presidential elections at a polling station set up under the Tajik embassy in Baku.

The polling station opened at 7a.m. As of 10:30 a.m., around 10 per cent of voters had already voted, the embassy told Trend today.

According to the diplomatic mission, around 80 Tajik citizens have been registered by the consulate.

Voting for the presidential elections started in Tajikistan on Wednesday. The polling stations will be open from 6:00 until 20:00 local time (from 5:00 until 19:00 Baku time).

Around 4.35 million Tajik citizens have the right to vote. Voting will take place at 3158 polling stations in the country and 61 polling stations outside the country.

Six contenders have been registered as presidential candidates. The republic's current President Emomali Rahmon is among them.

For the post of the Tajik president, Secretary of the Communist Party, MP Ismoil Talbakov, Chairman of the Democratic Party Saidjafar Ismonov, Chairman of the Socialist Party Abduhalim Gafforov, a representative of the Agrarian Party Tolibbek Bukhoriev and Chairman of the Party of Economic Reform Olimjon Boboev will also compete.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency