Customs Union ready to prepare treaty on Armenia’s accession to EEC

Photo: Customs Union ready to prepare treaty on Armenia’s accession to EEC

 / Armenia

Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan are ready to begin preparations of a treaty on Armenia's accession to the Eurasian Economic Community, Russian President Vladimir Putin said, Prime website reported on March 5.

"Armenian side has adopted and successfully implementing an action plan on adaptation to the norms and requirements of the Customs Union and the Common Economic Space, therefore we consider it possible to proceed with development of a draft treaty on Armenia's accession to the future Eurasian Economic Community," Putin said, opening a meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council held at the level of heads of states.

Eurasian Customs Union is a form of trade and economic integration of Belarus, Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation. It envisages a unified customs territory. The customs duties and economic restrictions, except for special protective, antidumping and countervailing measures, are not used in the mutual trade in goods. Customs Union member states use a common customs tariff and other common measures regulating trade with third countries.

Customs Union of the three countries began operating in January 2012. Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Syria, Vietnam and New Zealand expressed their desire to join the union.

Following talks with Russian President Vladimir Putin in Moscow in early September, Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan stated that he "reaffirmed Armenia's desire to join the Customs Union and to be involved in formation process of the Eurasian Economic Community".

Translated by E.A.

Edited by C.N.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency