Armenian parliament names new speaker

Photo: Armenian parliament names new speaker
 / Armenia

Galust Saakyan, Armenian Republican Party's head, has been elected the chairman of Armenia's National Assembly (parliament) by a secret ballot, reported Tuesday, April 29.

Some 101 MPs voted for him, while three MPs voted for Saakyan's only rival - the oppositional MP Hrant Bagratyan, and two ballots were announced invalid.

Some 106 MPs took part in the voting, in particular, the MPs of Armenia's ruling Republican Party, as well as the members of the parliamentary factions Prosperous Armenia and Rule of Law, which, judging by the results supported Saakyan.

Translated by E.A.

Edited by S.I.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency