Georgia holds new elections on 11 polling stations

Photo: Georgia holds new elections on 11 polling stations / Georgia

Georgia, Tbilisi, Oct.14 / Trend, N.Kirtskhalia /

The Central Election Commission (CEC) of Georgia is holding new parliamentary elections on 11 polling stations in single-seat electoral districts.

The new parliamentary elections in Georgia are being held on Sunday from 8:00 am local time in the polling station No.5 in Sighnaghi, No.4 in Gori, and 9 polling stations in Khashuri.

The new elections are held after complaints of the "Georgian Dream" coalition.

In Khashuri candidate from the former ruling party - United National Movement, Bacho Kitiashvili removed his candidacy because of "pressure and blackmail" by the opposition coalition "Georgian Dream". However, despite this decision, the new elections are held in Khashuri.

Georgian Dream gets 39 seats, and UNM - 34 by single-party districts.

According to the party lists, around 45 members will join the Parliament from the Georgian Dream coalition, while 32 will be from the United National Movement.

The Georgian Dream coalition will receive 83 seats in the parliament, and the United National Movement, 67.

The CEC should submit the final vote count by Oct.20.

Do you have any feedback? Contact our journalist at

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency