Revote to be held in seven polling stations in Georgia

Photo: Revote to be held in seven polling stations in Georgia / Georgia

Tbilisi, Georgia, June 24

By Nana Kirtzkhalia - Trend:

The revote in the municipal elections in Georgia will be held on June 29 in seven polling stations where the elections results were annulled, the Central Election Commission (CEC) of Georgia said.

The elections to regional and city councils (Sakrebulo) were held in Georgia on June 15.

Moreover, the direct elections of heads of 59 regional administrations were held in the country for the first time in its history. Additionally, the direct elections were held not only for the Tbilisi mayor, but also for the mayors of some 11 self-governing cities of Georgia for the first time.

"CEC has decided on the date of holding the revote in the municipal elections. The voting on the majority system will be held in seven polling stations on June 29," the commission said.

The revote in the Sakrebulo elections will be held in the regions of Kvemo Kartli, Imereti, Samegrelo - Zemo Svaneti and Ajara Autonomous Republic.

The revote will take place in the polling stations No 25 and No 57 of the Marneuli constituency, No 2 and No 5 of the Tkibuli constituency, No 32 of the Zugdidi constituency and so on.

The date of the second round of the elections hasn't been determined yet. The elections will be held in eight of 12 self-governing cities and 11 regional centers.

Edited by CN

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency