Georgian PM names new ministers of his government

Photo: Georgian PM names new ministers of his government / Georgia

Tbilisi, Georgia, July 22
By Nana Kirtzkhalia - Trend:

Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili has named several new ministers of his government.

He introduced the new ministers to journalists at a briefing held at the State Chancellery.

The post of the Minister of Corrections, Probation and Legal Assistance will be taken by lawyer Giorgi Mgebrishvili who has served as governor of the Kvemo Kartli region.

Lawyer Otar Daneliya, who earlier served as the first deputy agriculture minister, will be appointed agriculture minister, David Shavlishvili, who earlier headed the Georgian motor roads department, will head the Infrastructure and Regional Development Ministry.

The prime minister also introduced philologist Gela Dumbadze as new state minister for diaspora affairs who previously held the post of first deputy state minister.

The candidate for the post of the minister of Culture and Monument Protection has not been defined yet, the PM promised to disclose his name on July 23.

Recall that former Minister of Corrections and Legal Assistance Prison Systems Sozar Subari took the post of the Minister for Internally Displaced Persons and Accommodation, and former minister of Infrastructure and Regional Development Elgudja Hokrishvili took up the post of the minister for Environment and Natural Resources.

Now Premier will present new government to President Giorgi Margvelashvili, who within a week should submit it to the parliament to declare a vote of confidence. The supreme legislative body of Georgia will also have seven days to declare a vote of confidence to the new Cabinet, where seven ministers have been replaced.

If the Cabinet fails to gain parliament's trust twice, the president has the right to dissolve it, however such development of events is not expected in Georgia.

Edited by S.I.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency