Voting for 14 local elections begins in Turkey

Photo: Voting for 14 local elections begins in Turkey / Turkey

Turks in 14 localities began casting their votes on Sunday for local elections, Anadolu Agency reported.

The Supreme Election Board had declared 13 results void in the March 30 local elections including northwestern Yalova and eastern Agri provinces, due to "irregularities", and also decided holding a by-election in Gomu district.

Nearly 203,000 Turkish citizens will vote on Sunday as elections are being held again in 14 localities across Turkey. They will choose their local leaders for the next five years.

Voting started in the eastern Agri province as a total of 79,498 people are eligible to cast their votes in 310 ballot boxes across the province.

In northwestern Yalova province, 245 ballot boxes have been made available for 75,813 voters until 5 pm.

Voting will also take place in the Aydintepe district of northern Bayburt province, in the town of Tercan in the eastern Erzincan province, in Sabanozu district of Cankiri in central Anatolia, and in the Buharkent district of Aydin in the Aegean region.

Municipal polls are also open in Gomu in the central Anatolian province of Afyonkarahisar, in Yesilyurt and Ortakoy districts of the northern Tokat and Corum provinces, in Guroymak district of eastern Bitlis, in the Sorgun district in the central Anatolian province of Yozgat, in Mahmudiye district of Eskisehir, Catalzeytin district of northern Kastamonu province and in the town of Baglama in the central Anatolian province of Nigde.

The March 30 municipal elections saw the ruling AK Party win for the third time with over 45.5 percent of the vote.

On March 30, nearly 85 percent of media outlets in Turkey received the results from Anadolu Agency.

AA had 1,500 reporters in the field and 95,000 data providers at work under its Local Elections 2014 Project. The agency published 3,200 news items, 8,500 photographs and 600 videos on 30 March.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency