Azerbaijani CEC Publicizes Final Number of Registered Local Observers

Politics Materials 9 October 2008 15:53 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku, 9 October / Trend corr. J.Babayeva / The Azerbaijan Central Elections Commission (CEC) publicized a final number of the registered local observers.

"More than 40,000 local observers have been registered to follow the presidential elections in Azerbaijan," Mazahir Panahov, the chairman of the CEC, told journalists on 9 October.

The presidential elections in Azerbaijan will be held on 15 October. A total of seven candidates will take part in the elections including Ilham Aliyev, chairman of Ruling New Azerbaijan Party, Igbal Agazade, chairman of opposition Umid (Hope) Party, Fazil Gazanfaroglu, chairman of Great Establishment Party, Gudrat Hasanguliyev, chairman of Unified Popular Front Party, Hafiz Hajiyev, chairman of Muasir Musavat Party, Fuad Aliyev, chairman of Liberal Democrat Party and independent candidate Gulamhuseyn Alibayli.

Term of registration of observers has finished.

A total of 19,752 local observers are representatives of political parties, 12,525 representatives of non-government organizations and 4,078 observers, who passed a registration at own initiative, Panahov said.

More than 2,600 people of the registered local observers passed a registration at the CEC and 36,355 at the constituencies.

The polling process at 33 stations in foreign countries will be united within four constituencies in Azerbaijan (Sabail 29, Yasamal 15, 16, 17).

The correspondent can be contacted at: [email protected]