Azerbaijani Parliament Extends Congratulations to President Ilham Aliyev

Politics Materials 28 October 2008 12:47 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku, 28 October/ Trend , corr I. Alizade/ Azerbaijani parliament extended its congratulations to President Ilham Aliyev on 28 October.

Azerbaijan held presidential election on 15 October.

The presidential election was contested by seven candidates including Ilham Aliyev, chairman of Ruling New Azerbaijan Party, Igbal Agazade, chairman of opposition Umid (Hope) Party, Fazil Gazanfaroglu, chairman of Great Establishment Party, Gudrat Hasanguliyev, chairman of Unified Popular Front Party, Hafiz Hajiyev, chairman of Muasir Musavat Party, Fuad Aliyev, chairman of Liberal Democrat Party and independent candidate Gulamhuseyn Alibayli.

Ilham Aliyev won 88.73% of votes. Igbal Agazade gained 2.86%, Fazil Gazanfaroglu - 2.47%, Gudrat Hasanguliyev - 2.28%, Gulamhuseyn Alibayli - 2.23%, Fuad Aliyev - 0.78% and Hafiz Hajiyev - 0.65%.

In the congratulatory letter, Azerbaijani parliament congratulated President Ilham Aliyev of winning presidential election with landslide. "Ilham Aliyev proved once again in democratic and transparent election that he does not have alternative," the letter said.

The correspondent can be contacted at: [email protected]