Azerbaijani, Armenian presidents to meet Aug.10 with participation of Russian president

Photo: Azerbaijani, Armenian presidents to meet Aug.10 with participation of Russian president  / Nagorno-karabakh conflict

Baku, Azerbaijan, August 9
By Seba Aghayeva - Trend:

Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev and Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan will meet Aug.10 in Sochi, with participation of Russian President Vladimir Putin, Azerbaijani Presidential Administration's Deputy Head and Director of Administration's Foreign Relations Department, Novruz Mammadov wrote on Twitter.

"Azerbaijani and Russian presidents will today hold a bilateral meeting to develop the cooperation," Mammadov wrote.

He stressed that the progress in the negotiations will depend on how constructive position Armenian president will show.

Mammadov added that Azerbaijani and Armenian presidents will hold talks on the settlement of the Armenian-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

The last meeting between Azerbaijani and Armenian presidents was held Nov.19, 2013 in Vienna.

Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev and Russian President Vladimir Putin will meet in Sochi, Russia, Aug.9, according to a message posted on the official website of Russian president.

During the meeting, the presidents will discuss the cooperation issues between Russia and Azerbaijan, joint steps to promote the promising and mutually beneficial projects, first of all, in the spheres of energy, investment and interregional cooperation.

Putin will also meet with his Armenian counterpart Serzh Sargsyan on the same day, according to the message.

The two sides will exchange views on the further development of bilateral cooperation in political, trade, economic and humanitarian spheres. They will focus on the process of Armenia's joining the Eurasian Economic Union Treaty.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the U.S. are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the U.N. Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency