TRACECA intergovernmental commission meeting date set

Business Materials 25 February 2009 19:09 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku, Feb. 25 / Trend , E.Ismayilov/

Next meeting of the TRACECA intergovernmental commission will take place in Kyrgyzstan on June 15-16. Kyrgyzstan will undertake chairmanship in the organization, TRACECA National Secretary from Azerbaijan Akif Mustafayev said.

"Reforming the transport corridor will be discussed at the meeting," he said.

TRACECA intergovernmental commission includes the following Basic Multilateral Agreement (BMA): Azerbaijan, Armenia, Bulgaria, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Romania, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan.

Turkmenistan is a TRACECA participating country, but Ashgabat did not sign the BMA.

In April 2005, two more countries acceded to the BMA - Iran and Afghanistan. The countries are completing procedural formalities to join the BMA. However, both countries are not TRACECA participants.

Do you have any feedback? Contact our journalist at [email protected]