Azerbaijani-EU visa facilitation and readmission agreements to enter into force by autumn

Photo: Azerbaijani-EU visa facilitation and readmission agreements to enter into force by autumn / Politics

Baku, Azerbaijan, June 10

By Emil Ismayilov - Trend:

The visa facilitation agreement and the agreement 'On the readmission of persons residing without authorization in the EU countries' between Azerbaijan and the European Union (EU) will enter into force in September, 2014, Azerbaijan's Deputy Foreign Minister Mahmud Mammadguliyev told Trend.

The Azerbaijani parliament has already ratified both of the agreements.

The deputy minister said that there are no problems for these agreements to take effect, adding that after the president's approval, the EU will be informed about this.

Mammadguliyev underscored that both of the agreements are expected to enter into force by September.

The deputy minister went on to add that this process also depends on the EU that is currently undergoing a transformation period, with the new elections to the European Parliament.

Azerbaijan and the EU signed a visa facilitation agreement during the EU Vilnius summit in November, 2013 and the readmission agreement was signed on Feb.28, 2014.

Once entered into force, the visa facilitation agreement will facilitate the travel of Azerbaijani citizens to the Schengen zone countries and the EU citizens to Azerbaijan.

Additionally, this agreement will contribute to the development of relations between the EU and Azerbaijani citizens. It will cover an extensive list of persons. First of all, they are the citizens traveling abroad for education and business.

Under the readmission agreement, Azerbaijan undertakes new obligations to the EU on readmission of the Azerbaijani citizens illegally residing in the EU countries and other related obligations.

The signing of the visa facilitation and readmission agreements are envisaged by the EU Eastern Partnership program aimed at closer cooperation of the EU with six former Soviet republics - Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

Edited by C.N.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency