OSCE MG co-chairs to issue statement about new violence on Azerbaijan-Armenia contact line

Photo: OSCE MG co-chairs to issue statement about new violence on Azerbaijan-Armenia contact line / Nagorno-karabakh conflict

Baku, Azerbaijan, July 23

By Sabina Ahmadova - Trend:

Co-Chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group will issue a statement today concerned about new violence on the contact line of Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, U.S. co-chairman of OSCE Minsk Group James Warlick made this statement on his official Twitter page.

"I am leaving for Vienna to brief Minsk Group representatives and OSCE Secretary General on Nagorno-Karabakh peace," Warlick said.

Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov met with the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs as part of the fifth meeting of the foreign ministers of member countries of the EU "Eastern Partnership" in Brussels on July 22.

During the meeting the sides discussed the principles well known to the public, as well as ways to accelerate the process of resolving of Nagorno-Karabakh conflict on the basis of statements voiced by co-chairs.

Earlier, Armenian media reported that the Armenian forces, during an operation in the occupied Kalbajar region's Shaplar village detained two Azerbaijanis - Shahbaz Guliyev and Dilgam Asgarov.

In this regard, the State Commission on Prisoners of War, Hostages and Missing Persons of Azerbaijan issued a message that the commission focuses on the future of the Azerbaijani citizens taken hostage in the territory of Kalbajar region. The photos and videos about them were distributed in the Armenian media.

The families of Azerbaijanis, taken hostage by Armenians in the occupied territories, have officially appealed to the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC).

Currently the ICRC continues talks with the parties on this matter, ICRC Azerbaijan's office told Trend earlier.

Meanwhile, Azerbaijan's Defense Ministry denied the Armenian media reports on belonging of the mentioned persons to the country's armed forces.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan.

As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the U.S. are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four U.N. Security Council resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency