List of Countries Involved into Talks on Azerbaijan’s Joining WTO Expanded

Business Materials 26 February 2008 17:00 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku, 26 February / Trend corr I. Khalilova / India and Norway applied to the Azerbaijani Government to include them into the list of the countries with which Azerbaijan is holding bilateral negotiations within the framework of joining the World Trade Organization (WTO), the Deputy Foreign Minister Mahmud Mammadguliyv, the head of the talks group, said on 26 February.

Presently, Azerbaijan is negotiating with the United States, European Union, South Korea, Japan and the Chinese Province of Taiwan.

"In case the next round of talks with the WTO working group is delayed, we will coordinate the dates of the bilateral negotiations in the capital cities of these countries or in Azerbaijan," Mammadguliyev said.

So far, it has been impossible to do that, for continuation of the talks requires updated variant of bound-tariffs, i.e. the proposals on the maximum volume of customs for entering Azerbaijan's market of goods and services, the proposals on approximation of the legislation in accordance with the WTO requirements, on the access to the banking, insurance, telecommunications, and energy market. They have been already submitted to the WTO Secretariat, Mammadguliyev said.

Azerbaijan has completed the negotiations with Turkey, Georgia, Oman, Moldova and the United Arab Emirates, but the protocol was signed only with Turkey. According to the Deputy Minister, Oman has confirmed its readiness to sign a bilateral document, and the UAE confirmed that on the level of Ministers, but the final decision is expected to be made by the Government.

The correspondent can be contacted at: [email protected]