Rulling party of Turkey gained 43.9% of the vote (UPDATE)

Türkiye Materials 7 June 2015 21:48 (UTC +04:00)
Rulling party of Turkey gained 43.9% of the vote.
Rulling party of Turkey gained 43.9% of the vote (UPDATE)

Details added (first version posted 21:34)

According to preliminary information Turkey's ruling party won 43.9% of the vote, TRT Haber reported.

The Republican People's Party (CHP) won 24.2% of the vote, the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) won 17.1% and Democratic People's Party (HDP) won 10.5%.

The parliamentary election kicked off in Turkey at 08:00 am (UTC/GMT + 3 hours), June 7.

Political parties and officials are banned to make any statements about the voting process till 24:00.

As many as 20 political parties are taking part in the election and 53,765,231 voters could participate in the voting.

The main competition in the parliamentary election is expected to be between the ruling Justice and Development Party and the Republican People's Party.

If the Peoples' Democratic Party manages to get into the parliament, the ruling party will have to form a coalition government. However, all the political parties, except the Peoples' Democratic Party, are against forming a coalition government with the ruling party.

According to the ruling party's statute, if it wins in the election, over 70 of the current MPs from this party will have the right to join the new government. Moreover, according to this structure's statute, the MPs from this party have no right to be elected to the parliament for more than three terms.

Such well-known political figures as deputies of the prime minister Bulent Arinc, Besir Atalay and Ali Babacan, former Minister of Justice Bekir Bozdag, deputy chairman of the party Huseyin Celik, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources Taner Yildiz, Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu are among these MPs.

During the parliamentary election held in Turkey in 2011, the ruling Justice and Development Party gained 46.66 percent of the vote. Some 20.85 percent of the votes went to the Republican People's Party (CHP), and 14.29 percent of the votes were gathered by the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP).