Azerbaijan to conclude agreements with seven European countries to avoid double taxation

Business Materials 18 December 2013 20:04 (UTC +04:00)

Baku, Azerbaijan, Dec. 18

By Emin Aliyev - Trend:

Azerbaijan will conclude agreements on avoidance of double taxation with seven European countries, head of International Relations Department of Azerbaijani Ministry of Taxes, Metin Kerimli said in an interview, published on Dec. 18 on Vergiler (Taxes) newspaper.

He said that recently the number of countries to sign agreements on avoidance of double taxation with Azerbaijan increased.

"Some 41 agreements out of 45 signed with our country have already come into force. The others will come into force after completion of corresponding procedures. The accelerated expansion of Azerbaijan's economic and trade relations turns the conclusion of such agreements into an objective necessity. Currently the ministry conducts a systematic work in this area," Kerimli said.

Agreements on avoidance of the double taxation with 20 EU countries out of 28 are in the force, he said.

"Talks with Spain and Denmark for similar agreements have been completed, while talks with Portugal, Sweden, Malta, Ireland and Slovakia continue. I hope that they will be successfully completed in the near future," Kerimli said.

Translated by E.A.