ECO FMs to sign Baku declaration

Politics Materials 9 June 2006 18:05 (UTC +04:00)

Baku declaration will be signed a result of a meeting of the Foreign Ministers of the Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC) to be held in Baku on 19-20 June 2006, a diplomatic source told Trend.

Experts of the Azerbaijani Foreign Ministers and OIC Secretariat have set up development of an agenda of the gathering and documents which will be submitted the participants in the gathering. The final version of documents will be accorded a day before the meeting of the FMs on the level of


Representatives of all 57 OIC member-countries are expected to particulate in the forum. Foreign Ministers or Deputy FMs will represent their countries at the Baku meeting. The Foreign Ministers of Russia, Iran, Pakistan, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, as well as Deputy FMs of Libya and Kazakhstan have already confirmed their participation.

The organization was founded in September 1969 at a conference of heads of states and governments of Muslim countries in Rabat, Morocco. Any country proclaiming its belonging to the Muslim world can become an OIC member. The international organizations enjoy an observer status at the organization.