Azerbaijan One of 9 UN Member-states Who Have Paid Fees in 2007

Politics Materials 17 January 2007 11:32 (UTC +04:00)

As of 16 January, only 9 countries have fully paid their fees to the UN budget for 2007, Trend reports. These are Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Brunei, Burkina-Faso, Finland, Norway, South Africa, Syria and Zambia.

The UN financial rules require the payment of fees for the current year to be received by 31 January, 2007. The fee for each country to the UN budget is regulated as a percentage of general expenses. The scale of fees is decided by the UN General Assembly every three years. In this case, the economic development level and population of each country is taken into consideration.

In December 2006, the UN General Assembly confirmed a new scale of fees for the UN member-states in 2007-2009. It commits the United States to cover 22% of the organization's expenses while Japan is to pay 16.6% and Russia 1.2%.