Prime Minister of Belarus leaves for Moscow

Other News Materials 12 December 2008 12:25 (UTC +04:00)

Prime Minister of Belarus Sergei Sidorsky has left for Moscow to preside at a session of the EurAsEC Interstate Heads of Government Council that is due on December 12, PM Spokesman Alexander Timoshenko told BelTA.

The Republic of Belarus is currently presiding at all EurAsEC bodies. In the course of the session Belarus, Russia and Kazakhstan are set to ink 14 agreements aimed at the Customs Union formation. The documents spell out customs and tariff regulations, customs administration and statistics, technical regulations, setting up of the secretariat of the Customs Union Commission.

The EurAsEC Interstate Council is expected to sign an agreement to develop the common system of the EurAsEC energy market information support, the information system in the area of technical regulations, sanitary and phytosanitary measures and the coordinated policy in the field, the protocol developing the EurAsEC united insurance market.

Besides, the participants of the session will consider the issue of elaborating joint measures to overcome the global financial crisis in the EurAsEC member-states and the issues related to the financial and legal aspects of the EurAsEC activity.

Founded in 2000, the EurAsEC consisted of Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan. In 2002, Moldova and Ukraine became the EurAsEC observers. Armenia joined the group of the EurAsEC observers in 2003. The community was set up for a close cooperation and unification of the national legislations of its participating countries. New forms of mechanisms of collaboration being worked out within the organisation are aimed at securing the formation of the Customs Union and the single economic area.