Suffering one defeat after another, Armenian separatists appoint new 'defense minister' (PHOTO)

Politics Materials 27 October 2020 16:37 (UTC +04:00)
Suffering one defeat after another, Armenian separatists appoint new 'defense minister' (PHOTO)

BAKU, Azerbaijan, Oct.27


The military leadership of the illegal Armenian regime created in the occupied Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan held a meeting in a bunker, as a result of which a new ‘defense minister’ was appointed instead of Jalal Harutyunyan who died at a hospital with heavy wounds in the military clashes, Trend reports on October 27.

The military leadership of the illegal regime is suffering one defeat after another, as a result of successful military operation of Azerbaijani Armed Forces.

The videos posted recently on social networks suggest serious problems with personnel, weapons and material support, cases of mass desertion in the Armenian troops.

Armenian Armed Forces launched a large-scale military attack on positions of the Azerbaijani army on the front line, using large-caliber weapons, mortars, and artillery on Sept. 27.

Azerbaijan responded with a counter-offensive along the entire front. As a result of retaliation, Azerbaijani troops liberated a number of territories previously occupied by Armenia, as well as take important, strategic heights under control.

The fighting continued into October 2020, in the early days of which Armenia has launched missile attacks on Azerbaijani cities of Ganja, Mingachevir, Khizi as well as Absheron district.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, the Armenian Armed Forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on the withdrawal of its armed forces from Nagorno Karabakh and the surrounding districts.