Baku Marathon 2016 has winners (UPDATE)

Society Materials 1 May 2016 13:13 (UTC +04:00)

Details added (first version posted on 11:51)

Baku, Azerbaijan, May 1


The winners of the Baku Marathon 2016 have been announced.

Namig Asadov won the men's race as part of the marathon, while the representative of Georgia Georgi Damenia, and Tural Sadigli came in second and third, respectively.

Rahida Aslanova won the women's race as part of the marathon, and Natasha Peterson came in second.

The Baku Marathon 2016, organized at the initiative of the Heydar Aliyev Foundation, kicked off May 1.

The course of the marathon covers a distance of 21 kilometers from its start point at the Flag Square to the finish line at the Baku Olympic Stadium.

The marathon started at 10:00 (UTC/GMT +4 hours). It will take a maximum of four hours and a half to overcome a 21 kilometer-distance.

The event's main goal is to assist the development of sports in Azerbaijan, promote healthy lifestyle, especially, among the youth, and bring them together for a good cause.

The funds to be received from the Baku Marathon 2016 will be spent on the Heydar Aliyev Foundation's project for the children deprived of parental care.