Speaker at Turkmen parliament elected

Photo: Speaker at Turkmen parliament elected / Turkmenistan

Ashgabat, Turkmenistan, Jan. 7

By Huseyn Hasanov - Trend:

At a meeting of the Turkmen Majlis (Parliament) in Ashgabat on Jan.7, the deputies of the fifth convocation unanimously re-elected speaker Akja Nurberdieva who has held this position since February 2007, a source from the Turkmen government told Trend.

According to the source, the parliamentary meeting was attended by President Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedov, who signed a corresponding law after the voting procedure.

Election of deputies of the fifth convocation of Turkmen Majlis was held on December 15, 2013 and 125 deputies were elected out of 283 candidates.

For the first time in the history of Turkmenistan, representatives from the two parties, the Democratic Party and Party of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs took part in the elections.

According to the CEC, the number of voters was 91.33 per cent of all Turkmen citizens eligible to vote.

According to the source, proposals have been received on increasing the number of committees. In particular, they are to establish a Committee on Economic Affairs, a Committee on Social Policy and a separate committee on local self-government.

The term of office for MPs is five years.

According to the Turkmen constitution, parliament passes laws, makes changes and additions to the Constitution of Turkmenistan, approves the state budget, addresses questions on holding referendums and announces presidential and parliamentary elections.
It also considers issues the appointment and dismissal of the chief of the Supreme Court, attorney general, interior minister and minister of justice and ratifies and terminates international treaties, addresses issues on changes of state borders and the administrative-territorial division of Turkmenistan.

Translated by M.L.

Edited by S.M.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency