Iran’s reformist ex-president may run for presidential elections

Photo: Iran’s reformist ex-president may run for presidential elections / Iran

Azerbaijan, Baku, April 18 / Trend, D.Khatinoglu/

Hassan Rasouli, head of Baran Foundation, an political organization belongs to reformists said that demands from ex-president Mohammad Khatami to run for elections is at rise both amongst the elite and the major body of the population, Young Journalists Club reported on April 18.

Quoting Khatami, Rasouli said "If my coming would result in calm to settle in the country and inculcate hopes for the future among the youth, I would not say no to coming."

Rasouli said that Khatami is currently analyzing the prevailing situations of the country and added "He is deliberating different factors with social and governmental impacts before entering the electoral scene."

Head of Baran Foundation said that according to canvasses by the ruling Conservatives Coalition Khatami enjoys a far more popularity than other candidates.

Appraising the difference in popularity as meaningful, he said "The demand has subjected Mr. Khatami to serious responsibility."

Rasouli said in the meanwhile that in case Khatami does not run for the elections, the Reformist "Khatami-centered current that acts within the system" will be present in the presidential campaigns.

The eleventh election of the President of Iran is scheduled to be held on 14 June 2013 to elect the seventh President, successor of Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, who is barred from standing for a third term.

Thus far, there are 17 political figures, who have expressed their will to participate in the upcoming presidential elections, Iranian media outlets reported.

Right now, the list of candidates for the upcoming elections is as follows:

Gulamali Haddad Adil - former speaker of the Iranian parliament.

Ali Akbar Velayati - Supreme Leader's Advisor for International Affairs.

Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf - former commander of the Iranian police and current Mayor of Tehran.

Alireza Zakani - MP.

Manouchehr Mottaki - Former Foreign Minister of Ahmadinejad's government.

Mohammad Reza Bahonar - Deputy Speaker of Iranian Parliament.

Yahya Ali Ishaq - Head of Iran's Trade Commerce.

Mohsen Rezaee - former commander of the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC) and the secretary of the Expediency Council of Iran.

Ali Fellahiyan - Former Security Minister under President Ali Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani.

Mohammed Saidikiya - represented the cabined during the presidency of Mohammad Khatami, Ali Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

Hassan Rouhani - Head of the Center for Strategic Research of Iran's Expediency Council and former secretary of the Supreme National Security Council.

Mustafa Purmuhammedi - Head of the main inspection organization of Iran.

Muhammedrza Arif - The first deputy of former President Mohammad Khatami.

Mohammad Shariatmadari - Former Minister of Trade under Mohammed Khatami.

Mostafa Kavakibian - Secretary General of the Democratic Party of Iran.

Mohammad-Hassan Aboutorabi Fard - MP, First Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of Iran.

Hassan Sobhani - former MP of Iranian parliament.

Do you have any feedback? Contact our journalist at

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency