OSCE MG co-chairmen to leave Yerevan for Azerbaijani-occupied territories

Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict Materials 9 February 2011 16:14 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku, Feb.9 / Trend /

OSCE Minsk Group co-chairmen, Robert Bradtke from the United States, Bernard Fassier from France, and Igor Popov from Russia arrived in Yerevan today. At the moment, the mediators are holding a meeting with Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian, Armenia Today reported. They are expected to meet with Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan in the second half of the day.

According to the Azatutun radio, the co-chairmen will visit the Azerbaijani-occupied territories on Feb.10.

As Trend reported earlier, the co-chairmen of the OSCE Minsk Group on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict settlement will visit Azerbaijan, where they will hold meetings with the country's officials on Feb. 10.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. Armenian armed forces have occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan since 1992, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and 7 surrounding districts.

Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group - Russia, France, and the United States - are currently holding the peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the U.N. Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.