Georgia withdraws from the Commonwealth of Independent States

Georgia Materials 14 August 2008 20:07 (UTC +04:00)

The Georgian parliament agreed on Thursday to pull the country out of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) as a result of the hostilities with Russia, reported dpa.

Founded in 1991 after the break-up of the former Soviet Union, the CIS is comprised of all the former Soviet republics except for the three Baltic states of Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania.

All 117 members present for the session in the Georgian parliament, dominated by the party of President Mikheil Saakashvili, voted in favour of the move, according to the Interfax news agency.

Saakashvili, at a large rally Tuesday, called on Ukraine and other countries to pull out of the "Russian-dominated" organization.