Parliamentary election kicks off in Turkey

Türkiye Materials 7 June 2015 10:00 (UTC +04:00)
Parliamentary election kicks off in Turkey
Parliamentary election kicks off in Turkey

Baku, Azerbaijan, June 7

By Rufiz Hafizoglu - Trend:

The parliamentary election kicked off in Turkey at 08:00 am (UTC/GMT + 3 hours), June 7.

The voting in the election in the country will be completed at 17:00 (UTC/GMT + 3 hours), according to High Election Board of Turkey.

Political parties and officials are banned to make any statements about the voting process till 24:00.

As many as 20 political parties are taking part in the election and 53,765,231 voters will participate in the voting.

The main competition in the parliamentary election is expected to be between the ruling Justice and Development Party and the Republican People's Party.

If the Peoples' Democratic Party manages to get into the parliament, the ruling party will have to form a coalition government. However, all the political parties, except the Peoples' Democratic Party, are against forming a coalition government with the ruling party.

According to the ruling party's statute, if it wins in the election, over 70 of the current MPs from this party will have the right to join the new government. Moreover, according to this structure's statute, the MPs from this party have no right to be elected to the parliament for more than three terms.

Such well-known political figures as deputies of the prime minister Bulent Arinc, Besir Atalay and Ali Babacan, former Minister of Justice Bekir Bozdag, deputy chairman of the party Huseyin Celik, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources Taner Yildiz, Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu are among these MPs.

During the parliamentary election held in Turkey in 2011, the ruling Justice and Development Party gained 46.66 percent of the vote. Some 20.85 percent of the votes went to the Republican People's Party (CHP), and 14.29 percent of the votes were gathered by the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP).


Follow the author on Twitter: @rhafizoglu