Major Iranian cleric, former Iranian presidential candidate cast their votes

Photo: Major Iranian cleric, former Iranian presidential candidate cast their votes / Iran

Iran, Tehran, June 14 /Trend T. Jafarov/

Former Iranian reformist president candidate Mohammad Reza Aref and major Iranian cleric Ayatollah Makarem Shirazi cast their votes at the presidential elections.

Mohammad Reza Aref withdrew his candidacy from the presidential race in favor of another candidate, Hassan Rouhani.

Also, a member of the Expediency council of Iran, Ali Akbar Nategh-Nouri, who also serves as an advisor to Iran's supreme leader, cast his vote at the elections.

Grand Ayatollah Hosein Nuri-Hamadani and General Secretary of the Guardian Council Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati have also cast their votes.

Earlier, Iran's Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei has cast his vote as well, and urged people to actively participate at the elections.

The 11th presidential elections have officially started today in Iran.

There are six candidates participating in the current presidential elections: Secretary of Expediency Council Mohsen Rezaei, Supreme National Security Council Secretary Saeed Jalili, former Foreign Minister Ali-Akbar Velayati, Tehran Mayor Mohammad-Baqer Qalibaf, President of the Strategic Research Center of the Expediency Council Hassan Rohani, and former Telecommunications Minister Mohammad Gharazi.

Nearly 50.5 million Iranians are eligible to vote in the upcoming presidential poll. Iranians living in other countries would be able to vote through the embassies of Iran in those countries.

The primary results of the June 14 presidential election will be announced by the Iranian Interior Ministry, and would be then approved by the Guardian Council.

Such countries as Azerbaijan, Germany, Australia, Russia, Japan, UK, UAE, France, Turkey, Iraq, Ukraine, USA, Syria, China are be covering the elections in Iran.

Do you have any feedback? Contact our journalist at

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency