Co-chairs Elected to Azerbaijani Left Party

Politics Materials 27 September 2008 17:27 (UTC +04:00)
Co-chairs Elected to Azerbaijani Left Party

Azerbaijan, Baku, 27 September / Trend , corr. I.Alizade / The Co-chair of the left Azerbaijan Social Democratic Party (ASDP), Araz Alizade, said that over the past five years, the party has achieved more successes than losses. 

"Many people used lack of financial opportunities of the party. In 2003 the party had more than 6,000 members. In that year we held an extraordinary congress regarding Ayaz Mutallibov's coming to the party and after this, flow began into the party. The number of the members exceeded 26,000. They expected that Ayaz Mutallibov will return, take a post and help their advancement. However, Mutallibov could not return and those who came due to it left the party," Alizade said at the 11th congress of the party in Baku on 27 September.

ASDP is a left opposition party. The co-chairman of the party is Araz Alizade and the other co-chairman is Ayaz Mutallibov, former president who lives in immigration at present. Ayaz Mutallibov was elected first president in 1991 when Azerbaijan gained independence. Later an action was brought against him. He has been living in immigration in Russia since 1992.

The 11th congress of ASDP took place at party's office on 27 September. Of 103 representatives  elected from more than 20 city and region organizations, 89 attended the congress. During the congress were delivered the reports of party co-chairs Araz Alizade and Ayaz Mutallibov, Central Committee and Central Control and Inspection Commission. Moreover, the party leadership and elective bodies were re-established.   

Alizade said that strange processes take place in the party. "Differences took place in the party. Both Ayaz Mutallimov and I made staff faults," Alizade said.

He said that currently the party has more than 3,000 members.

Later, closed voting was held for elective bodies. Araz Alizade and Ayaz Mutallibov were re-elected as the co-chairs of ASDP. The members of the Central Committee and Central Control Commission were determined.   

The correspondent can be contacted at: [email protected]