CEC head: Azerbaijani voters will show activity at today's elections

Politics Materials 9 October 2013 08:10 (UTC +04:00)
Around 1,400 international observers and 52,000 local observers will observe the presidential election in Azerbaijan
CEC head: Azerbaijani voters will show activity at today's elections

Azerbaijan, Baku, Oct. 9 / Trend M. Aliyev /

It is necessary to show the real situation in Azerbaijan to the international community and the media must inform about this. The information about the preliminary results of the election must be rapidly given.

The initial data regarding the process of voting and the participation of voters will be publicized five times during the day (at 10:00, 12:00, 15:00, 17:00 and 19:00, local time).

Azerbaijani presidential election today will be observed by overall 52,000 observers, among them 1,400 international observers, Chairman of the Central Election Commission Mazahir Panahov said at a press conference today.

According to him, since CEC gives great meaning to the transparency principle, all conditions for observing the elections have been created.

"Earlier, web cameras have been installed at 10 percent of polling stations, while now they are installed at 20 percent of stations, which is 1,000 stations.This allows monitoring of the election from all countries of the world," he said.

"No one is insured against unfavorable cases, but we have taken all conditions to avoid any such cases," he said. "Azerbaijani voters will show their activity at today's elections. Voters were always active at presidential election in Azerbaijan. I believe that Azerbaijani voters will not be indifferent to their further five-year fate."

The presidential election voting started in Azerbaijan on Wednesday. Country's polling stations opened at 8:00 am and will close at 7:00 pm (local time).

Ten candidates will take part in the elections including the Chairman of the New Azerbaijan Party, President of Azerbaijan Ilham Aliyev, the chairman of Umid Party Igbal Aghazadeh, self-nominated candidate MP Zahid Oruj, the chairman of the United Azerbaijan Popular Front Party (UAPFP) MP Gudrat Hasanguliyev, the chairman of the Modern Musavat Party Hafiz Hajiyev, the chairman of the Azerbaijan Social Democratic Party (ASDP) Araz Alizadeh, the chairman of the National Revival Movement Party, MP Faraj Guliyev, the candidate nominated by the initiative group of voters of the 'National Council of Democratic Forces', Jamil Hasanli, the chairman of the Adalat Party, MP Ilyas Ismayilov and the chairman of the Azerbaijan Democratic Party (ADP) Sardar Jalaloglu.

The Central Election Commission of Azerbaijan has registered 5,145,643 voters.

In connection with the presidential elections, the Central Election Commission of Azerbaijan established 5,273 permanent and 219 temporary polling stations.

Web cameras have been installed in 1000 polling stations in 119 constituencies of Azerbaijan. Unlike in previous years, this time the voting process can be monitored via mobile devices such as smartphones.

Totally, 52,000 people will observe the election in Azerbaijan, nearly 1,400 of which are international observers.

Also, the presidential election will be covered by over 70 representatives from over 20 international media outlets.