Shanghai Cooperation Organization Member-Countries Sign Dushanbe Declaration

Tajikistan Materials 28 August 2008 18:42 (UTC +04:00)

Tajikistan, Dushanbe, 28 August / Trend corr. R.Mashadihasanli / Six Presidents of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) signed the Dushanbe declaration on 28 August. The document includes the issues of international security, trade and economic cooperation, struggle against separatism, extremism and terrorism. Declaration reflects the position of SCO member-countries regarding the Georgian-Ossetin conflict.

In particular, declaration says "SCO member-countries hail approval of the six principles in Moscow on 12 August to regulate the conflict in South Ossetia and support Russia's active role to assist world and cooperation in the region".

"SCO country-members state their adherence to preventive diplomacy as a significant way to solve security and development problems, as well as to strengthen the UN key role in the sphere of crisis warning,' is stated in the declaration. The first item states that "solution of problems through force has no prospectus, and prevents complex regulation of local conflicts. The comprehensive solution of conflicts is possible if the interests of all sides are taken into consideration in negotiation process, but not isolation.

Under the document, SCO member-countries stand for wide international cooperation to meet human needs without damage to the environment.

One of the key items in the document is deepening of interaction between SCO and UN, as well as with CIS, South East Asia Countries Association, Eurasian Economic Community, Collective Security and Economic Deal Organization and UN Social Commission for Asia and Pacific Ocean.

"SCO member-countries state the importance of the dialogue amongst the countries on the efficiency and rational use of water and energy resources taking into account the interests of the sides," is stated in the Declaration.

The correspondent can be contacted at: [email protected]