Iranian FM off to Nigeria to attend D8 meeting

Iran Materials 13 July 2011 10:24 (UTC +04:00)

Iran's Foreign Minister Ali-Akbar Salehi left here for Nigeria Wednesday morning to attend the 14th foreign ministers meeting of D8 member countries in Abuja, Nigerian capital, IRNA reported.

The Developing 8 (D-8 or Developing Eight) are a group of developing countries with large Muslim populations that have formed an economic development alliance.

The D-8 consists of Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.

It was founded by Necmettin Erbakan, former Turkish Prime Minister.

The group was established after an announcement in Istanbul, Turkey on June 15, 1997.