Alonso wins Singapore GP as disaster strikes Massa

Other News Materials 28 September 2008 19:40 (UTC +04:00)

Renault's Fernando Alonso scored his first win of the season Sunday when he took the Singapore Formula One Grand Prix ahead of Niko Rosberg of Williams, reported dpa.

Two-time world champion Alonso claimed the 20th F1 win of his career with a winning time of 1 hour 57 minutes 16.304 seconds for the 61 laps of the 5.067 kilometres for a race distance of 309.087 kilometres.

Third place in the first ever F1 night race under floodlights at the Marina Bay Street Circuit went to championship leader Lewis Hamilton in a McLaren-Mercedes, who extends his lead over main rival Felipe Massa after the Ferrari driver finished down in 13th spot.

Toyota's Timo Glock came home in fourth spot, followed by Italian GP winner Sebastian Vettel of Toro Rosso. BMW's Nick Heidfeld finished sixth with David Coulthard of Red Bull and Williams driver Kazuki Nakajima completing the points placings.

Massa started from pole position and led comfortably in the early stages but all hope of victory and a chance of championship points ended for the Brazilian when he drove off with the fuel hose still attached at his first pit stop.

He had to stop at the end of the pit lane and wait for the Ferrari crew to run to the car and get the hose off, losing precious seconds.

Hamilton's podium finish sees the 23-year-old move on to 84 points in the drivers' standings with Massa remaining on 77 and Robert Kubica of BMW-Sauber third on 64 points.

Ferrari's miserable day was completed when defending world champion Kimi Raikkonen crashed out with four laps remaining while running in fifth spot.

The F1 season continues on October 12 with the Japanese GP at the Fuji Speedway.