Love epic tops Bollywood awards

Other News Materials 14 June 2009 08:54 (UTC +04:00)

The Indian historical film Jodhaa Akbar, about a Muslim-Hindu relationship, has dominated an Indian film awards ceremony, with six prizes, BBC reported.

At the gala event in Macau, China, it won best picture, best actor for Hrithik Roshan and best director for Ashutosh Gowariker.

The best actress award went to former Miss World Priyanka Chopra for her role in Fashion.

The International Indian Film Academy awards were marking 10 years.

Jodhaa Akbar also won awards for best song lyrics, best music direction for Oscar-winning composer AR Rahman, and best male playback singer - an award for performers who record soundtracks for on-screen actors.

The movie tells the tale of a Mughal king and his love for a Hindu princess.

The best supporting actor award was won by Arjun Rampal for Rock On!!, a movie about the reunion of an Indian band.

Kangana Ranawat won best supporting actress for Fashion.

While the female star of Jodhaa Akbar - Aishwarya Rai Bachchan - did not win for best actress, she did win best actress of the decade and outstanding achievement in international cinema.

Gowariker's Oscar-nominated 2001 film Lagaan, about Indian villagers who play their British colonial rulers in cricket to decide the fate of their taxes, was named film of the decade.

Indian screen legend Amitabh Bachchan presented the lifetime achievement award to veteran actor Rajesh Khanna, who received a standing ovation from the audience of thousands.

"The word superstar in the Indian film industry was for the first time coined for him," Bachchan said.

Other awards included male star of the decade for Shah Rukh Khan, and director of the decade for Rakesh Rohan.

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the IIFA awards, an event that attracts a worldwide audience of millions every year.

The awards were the culmination of a three-day event, including film and music launches, a celebrity fashion show, a global business forum and a performance by Cirque du Soleil.

The awards began in 2000 when the first ceremony was held in London at the Millennium Dome.