Georgian PM presents governors of nine regions

Photo: Georgian PM presents governors of nine regions 
 / Georgia

Tbilisi, Georgia, Dec.13

By Nana Kirtzkhalia - Trend:

Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili has presented the governors of Georgia's nine regions at the government's meeting with the participation of all ministers on Dec.13.

The appointed persons are: governor of Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti - Levan Shonia; governor of Imereti - Zaza Meparishvili; governor of Guria - Giorgi Chkhaidze; governor of Racha Lechkhumy - Papuna Margvelidze; governor of Shida Kartli - Zurab Khutsishvili, governor of Kvemo-Kartli - Giorgi Mgebrishvili; governor of Samtskhe-Javakheti - Akaki Maisuradze , Governor of Kakheti - Irakli Shiolashvili; Governor of Mtskheta-Mtianeti - Nugzar Kipiani.

Irakli Garibashvili also presented the head of the Department for relations with regions Akaki Shengelia.

The governors have a great responsibility, as they represent the state and the government in the country's regions, the prime minister said. He urged the appointed to work on improving the situation of the population in their regions.

Earlier, governors were appointed by the president of Georgia, but under the new constitution this duty has been assigned to the prime minister.

Translated by L.Z.

Edited by C.N.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency

Tags: Georgia