Russian, Armenian PMs discuss Yerevan’s joining Customs Union

Photo: Russian, Armenian PMs discuss Yerevan’s joining Customs Union / Armenia

Russian and Armenian Prime Ministers Dmitry Medvedev and Tigran Sargsyan are discussing the preparation for Yerevan's joining the Customs Union, economic cooperation and a donor conference, RIA Novosti reported on Feb. 24.

"We have the opportunity to discuss all aspects of Russian- Armenian cooperation and preparation for joining the Customs Union, bilateral trade turnover and the upcoming donor conference," Medvedev said at a meeting with Sargsyan.

The Eurasian Customs Union is a form of trade and economic integration of Belarus, Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation. It envisages a unified customs territory. The customs duties and economic restrictions, except for special protective, antidumping and countervailing measures, are not used in the mutual trade in goods. The Customs Union member states use a common customs tariff and other common measures regulating trade with third countries.

The Customs Union of the three countries began operating in January 2012. Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Syria, Vietnam and New Zealand expressed their desire to join the Union.

Following talks with Russian President Vladimir Putin in Moscow in early September, President Sargsyan stated that he reaffirmed Armenia's desire to join the Customs Union and to be involved in the formation process of the Eurasian Economic Union.

Translated by NH
Edited by SM

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency