Azerbaijani ‘MPs Supporting Independence’ Pass Declaration

Politics Materials 29 February 2008 20:13 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku, 29 February /corr. Trend S.Ilhamgizi / On 29 Feb, the 'MPs supporting independence', who voted for the independence of Azerbaijan, came together and discussed the current situation in Azerbaijan, a source at Azerbaijan National Independence Party reported to Trend .

The meeting held at office of ANIP leader, Etibar Mammadov, was attended by the then MPs known as '43' - Isa Gambar, Sulhaddin Akber, Arif Hajili, Ibrahim Ibrahimli, Mirmahmud Miralioglu, Iskender Hemidov, Hajibaba Azimov, Matlab Mutallimli and others.

The former MPs prepared the project of declaration on the public-political situation in Azerbaijan. The declaration says that there is a need to put an end to despotic willfulness of the officials, as well as the human rights violations. The former MPs require the state to take certain measures against the officials breaking the rights and law. In addition, the state should declare a State holiday on 18 October - Day of National Independence.

At the end of 1990, a 'bloc of MPs for Azerbaijan's independence' was established in the Supreme Council of Azerbaijan SSR. On 7 March 1997, the Supreme Council presented to voting- the issue of Azerbaijan's leaving the USSR and announcement of its independence. Of 350 MPs, 47 were absent during in voting, 6 abstained, 254 voted against and 43 voted in favor.