State Department on Radio Frequencies Registers Channels for Transfer to Digital Broadcasting in Azerbaijan

ICT Materials 29 May 2008 18:15 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku, 29 May /corr. Trend S.Babayeva / State Department on Radio Frequencies of Azerbaijan's Ministry of Communications & Information Technologies prepared electronic form of stations, which will be assembled in the regions of the country to transfer to digital broadcasting, the Department said. 

"Electronic form on DVB-T ((Digital Video Broadcasting) - a suite of internationally accepted open standards for digital television - was devised and presented to the International Telecommunication Union," the same source said.

Currently the ITU has devised forms of 43 DVB-T channels for Azerbaijan. Of them, 34 are under of B1 stage (they were coordinated with other countries) and 9 - under A1 stage (they are under process of co-ordination).

The program of transferring to digital broadcasting in Azerbaijan was submitted to the Cabinet of Ministers last year. It is comprised of three stages. The first stage covers 2007-2010, second - 2011-2013, and third- 2014-2015.

Initially 2 packs of broadcasting with 4 channels will be put into operation in Baku, Ganja and Nakhchivan (in each one). As a result, 60-70% of population will be included in coverage of digital broadcasting.

At the second stage, one more pack will be put into operation in Baku, Ganja and Nakhchivan. After this, the coverage percentage will increase from 60-70% to 90%.

Generally by 2013 there are plans to put into operation three 12-program packs.

At the final stage, there are plans to realize works on improvement of quality of broadcasting through installing additional sensors and ensure 98% coverage.

For the first time, the system of digital broadcasting in Azerbaijan was put into operation as pilot project in Baku on 10 October 2004.