Georgian-Russian negotiations format to be saved

Georgia Materials 2 December 2014 18:28 (UTC +04:00)
The format of negotiations between Russia and Georgia will be saved
Georgian-Russian negotiations format to be saved

Tbilisi, Georgia, Dec.2

By Nana Kirtzkhalia - Trend:

The format of negotiations between Russia and Georgia will be saved, the special representative of the Georgian Prime Minister for Relations with Russia Zurab Abashidze told reporters Dec.2.

"Despite some claims to cancel the specified format, we decided to keep it, and it will remain our communication channel," he said.

He said that it is currently unknown when the next meeting in this format will be held.

"We have established telephone contacts, and at the beginning of 2015, we will decide on the date," said Abashidze.

Bilateral relations between the two countries in the humanitarian, trade, transport and cultural spheres are discussed within the framework of meetings between the Special Representative of the Prime Minister of Georgia in relations with Russia and the First Deputy Foreign Minister Grigory Karasin, which are held in Prague.

This format of negotiations was established after the war in Georgia in 2008.

After the rupture of diplomatic relations between Georgia and Russia in 2012 one more format remains, that is the format of Geneva, within the framework of which political issues and conflict resolution issues are discussed. It involves Georgia, Russia, the separatist regimes of Abkhazia and South Ossetia, the US, EU, UN and OSCE.

Last week, some political forces in Georgia demanded the abolition of Abashidze-Karasin format after Moscow and Sukhumi signed an agreement on strategic alliance and partnership.

On the night of August 8, 2008, military actions were launched on the territory of South Ossetia, Georgia. Later the Russian troops occupied the city and drove back the Georgian military. In late August, Russia recognized the independence of South Ossetia and Abkhazia. In response, Tbilisi broke off diplomatic relations with Moscow and announced two unrecognized republics as occupied territories.