Azerbaijan proposes trilateral cooperation on TASIM

Business Materials 5 May 2015 14:00 (UTC +04:00)

Baku, Azerbaijan, May 5

By Huseyn Veliyev - Trend:

Azerbaijan proposed trilateral cooperation between the TASIM project, programs of the UN SPECA (Special Program for Central Asia) and CAREC (Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation), a source on the telecommunications market of Azerbaijan told Trend May 5.

This cooperation will contribute to the wide exchange of experience of Azerbaijan in the field of ICT with the countries of Central Asia, the broad support of the TASIM project, create the possibility of TASIM's integration with the Asian information superhighway, supported by the UNSCAP program (The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific), according to the source. UNSCAP is the founder of SPECA.

At present, a new direction of cooperation proposed by Azerbaijan is under consideration.

Earlier, UNSCAP marked TASIM as a key example of regional cross-border terrestrial communication. The above statement was reflected in the conclusion and recommendations on the development of AIS and posted on the official website of UNSCAP.

The document said that the TASIM project is intended not only to connect Europe and Asia, but also to become one of the key parts of the AIS. UNSCAP and the TASIM secretariat were in favor of mutual support of the both projects and expressed their willingness to continue working together to create an information and communication space in Asia and the Pacific region.

UNSCAP invited to consider TASIM's joining the Eurasian Connectivity Alliance - EuraCA as an interested party as well, which represents the Asia-Pacific region.

At present, the TASIM project includes such countries as Russia (Rostelecom), Kazakhstan (KazTransCom), Turkey (TurkTelecom), China (China Telecom), and Azerbaijan (represented by the Center for International Relations and Calculations of the Ministry of Communications and High Technologies).

The TASIM project is designed to connect 20 countries, and its realization will help to address the information gap between Western Europe and the Pacific Basin.

Edited by CN


Follow the author on Twitter: @h_veliyev