Chairman of Pakistan's National Assembly Invited to Pay Official Visit to Azerbaijan

Politics Materials 4 December 2006 18:23 (UTC +04:00)

Choudri Emir Hussein, Chairman of the National Assembly of Pakistan has been invited to pay an official visit to Azerbaijan. Within his visit to Pakistan from November 29 to December 3, Eldar Ibrahimov, Head of the Interparliamentary Friendship between the two countries, delivered an invitation to visit Azerbaijan in the name of Ogtay Assadov, Speaker of the Azerbaijani Parliament (Milli Majlis), a source in the Pakistani Embassy to Azerbaijan informed Trend.

During the meeting with the Pakistani Speaker, both parties discussed urgent issues of bilateral co-operation, as well as perspectives of the development of the interparliamentary relations.

During the visit, the Azerbaijani parliamentary delegation met Mushakheed Hussein, Chairman of the Committee for External Relations, Khusrsud Kasuri, Pakistan's Foreign Minister, Amman Ulah Khan Chadoun, Pakistan's Oil and Natural Resources Minister, Co-Chairman of the Pakistani-Azerbaijani Intergovernmental Joint Commission, Jan Jamali, Acting Chairman of Pakistan's Senate. During the meetings held, opinions were exchanged on the possibility of increasing the level of bilateral relations. The parties emphasized the importance of providing mutual assistance to each other in international organizations.

The Azerbaijani MPs met Choudri Shudjat Hussein, President of Pakistan's ruling party and exchanged opinions on issues of co-operation between the ruling parties of the two countries.

The Azerbaijani MPs took part in a round table discussion of the topic Azerbaijan and Regional Energy Scenarios organized in the Haydi Azim Pakistani University.

During the meeting with Pakistani officials, the Azerbaijani MPs repeatedly raised the Armenian-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict issue. Within the visit, the Azerbaijani guests participated in the opening of the Azerbaijani section in the Pakistan Ethnographic Museum of Luk Virsa.

The Azerbaijani delegation to Pakistan included the Chairpersons of the three Permanent Commissions of the Milli Majlis, Eldar Ibrahimov, Khadi Radjabli, and Rabiyat Aslanova, as well as MPs Assim Molazadeh and Isa Khabibeyli.