Defense Ministries of SCO countries discuss cooperation

Kazakhstan Materials 28 February 2017 11:41 (UTC +04:00)

Baku, Azerbaijan, Feb. 28
By Elena Kosolapova – Trend:
Defense Ministries of member states the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) discussed future cooperation within the meeting in Astana, Kazakhstan, Kazakh Defense Ministry said in a message Feb. 28.
Heads of divisions in charge of international cooperation took part in the meeting.

The main topics of the agenda were the forthcoming meeting of SCO Defense Ministers and the implementation of the Cooperation Plan between SCO Defense Ministries in 2017.

The participants also discussed a draft of the Plan of cooperation for 2018-2019, and other topical issues of cooperation within the organization.

“Coordinated joint actions aimed at strengthening stability and security in the region of the organization have a special importance against the background of the growing threat of international terrorism and religious extremism,” Kazakh Defense Ministry said.

The SCO was established in 2001. The SCO members now are China, Kazakhstan, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Iran, Mongolia and Belarus are the SCO observer-countries, while Turkey, Azerbaijan, Sri Lanka, Armenia, Cambodia and Nepal are dialogue partners.

Follow the author on Twitter: @E_Kosolapova