Customs Union's countries to unify railway tariffs

Business Materials 11 May 2011 13:17 (UTC +04:00)

Kazakhstan, Astana, May 11 / Trend A. Maratov /

Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus will unify the Customs Union railway tariffs, Kazakh Vice-Minister of Transport and Communications Azat Bekturov said at the next plenary session of the lower house of Parliament today.

"Each country will unify the tariffs [by railway] independently, gradually reducing the tariff burden," Bekturov said.

He said that although Kazakhstan and Russia have already begun work, Belarus has not yet begun.

"The unified tariffs will be fixed according to the national legislation of both parties," he said. "The differentiation of tariffs will be accepted by taking into account the types of cargo, carriages, distance and congestion of the carriages."

However, he said that the parties are obliged to respect the principle of openness and transparency while unifying the tariffs.

The countries of the Common Economic Space will not have transit after January 1, 2013," Bekturov said.

The parties will establish an exclusionary tariff starting on January 1, 2013 after agreements are made with the Customs Union.

"The parties will establish these rules before July 1, 2012," he said. "It will provide our shippers with an opportunity for improved competition."