2nd Conference of Organization of Economic Co-operation to be Held in Baku

Business Materials 30 May 2007 14:05 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku /А Trend corr. S.Babayeva / The Science Agronomy Center of Azerbaijani Agriculture Ministry reported that the Organization of Economic Co-operation (OEC) will hold its 2nd conference in Baku on harmonization of seed-growing in the OEC countries. The conference will end on 2 June.

The conference agenda envisages discussions of general situation in the system of seed-growing in different countries, the ways of harmonization of legislative base and the expansion of the co-operation in the field of seed-growing.

The Azerbaijani Agriculture Ministry will attend the meeting which will be held with the assistance of ICARDA and FAO. Twenty foreign delegates who will attend the meeting have arrived in Baku.

OEC was established in 1985 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey to provide economic, technique and cultural co-operation to the country-members of the organization.

OEC is assigned to the organization on Regional Co-operation for Development (RDC), which has functioned since 1964 to 1979. In 1992, 7 new members joined the organization.

Azerbaijan, Afghanistan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan are members of the OEC.