On Friday the site announced a new function, called Snooze, which allows users to mute people from their timelines for 30 days without having to unfollow or delete them altogether, DAILY NEWS reports.
The option will be available through the top-right dropdown menu on every post. It can be applied to individuals, pages and groups.
Facebook believes this will give users "more say over what they see in News Feed," according to a blog post. They're also hoping it'll help "make their experience more positive."
According to Tech Crunch, Facebook will notify you when the 30 day Snooze period on a user has ended.
They've also added a tool called Take A Break, which functions similarly to the Snooze tool, but is designed to help users control how much or how little they see of an ex-partner's Facebook content. It also helps users determine how much of their content said ex can see, including future and past posts.
In their blog post, Facebook cites research that suggests "offline and online contact, including seeing an ex-partner's activities, can make emotional recovery more difficult."
It's unclear whether this function is time sensitive like Snooze, or users have to opt to undo it when they're broken hearts have healed.
Both new functions, in addition to a number of others, are set to roll out on Friday.