Establishment of Musavat-PFPA Bloc Proposed due to Presidential Elections in Azerbaijan

Politics Materials 6 February 2008 20:31 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku, 6 February / Trend corr. S.Ilhamgizi / The three Azerbaijani political parties: the ruling New Azerbaijan, opposition Musavat and Popular Front, have a real chance of win in the upcoming presidential elections in Azerbaijan, Arif Hajili, the head of Executive Centre of the Musavat party, stated to Trend.

On 15 October 2008, the presidential elections will be held in Azerbaijan. The opposition Musavat, Umid, Great Establishment parties stated that they would participate in the approaching presidential elections with their own candidates. The Azadlig bloc, who unites the three oppositional parties: Popular Front Party of Azerbaijan, Liberal party, and Citizen & Development party, stated that they would boycott the upcoming presidential elections.

Hajili said that the organization which has its structures in the whole territory of Azerbaijan, may win the elections. "Some opposition wants to establish the club of candidates from opposition and elect one candidate for the position. I would like PFPA to support the candidate from Musavat during the presidential elections," Hajili said.

PFPA considers that participation in the presidential elections will not be significant, till no changes are made. There are differences in the position of PFPA and Musavat, concerning the participation in the coming elections. Therefore, there is no possibility for establishment of PFPA and Musavat, Hasan Karimov, PFPA deputy chairman said to Trend.

PFPA will participate in the elections- if the changes will be made in the composition of election commissions, freedom of assembly is provided and equal conditions for all candidates will be provided.

Opposition party Musavat was founded in 1992. Isa Gambar, the present Chairman of the Party was the Ex-Speaker of the Azerbaijani Parliament (Milli Majlis) in 1992-1993 and the candidate nominated to the Presidential elections held in the country in 2003. Five MPs represents the Party in the Parliament of the Country.