EU Parliament to visit Iran this week

Photo: EU Parliament to visit Iran this week / Iran

A European Parliament delegation is scheduled to travel to Iran this week, the first such visit to Iran in six years, Tehran Times reported.

The Parliament's governing body last month authorized a 10-member delegation to travel to Iran from December 12-17.

The delegation will be composed of Chairwoman Tarja Cronberg from Finland, Cornelia Ernst from Germany, Marietje Schaake from the Netherlands, and several other members.

Other members of European Parliament's Iran Delegation who have expressed interest to join the trip include Isabelle Durant from Belgium, Josef Weidenholzer from Austria, Pawel Zalewski from Poland, Dimitrios Droutsas and Niki Tzavela from Greece and Pavel Poc from Czech Republic.

In addition, a delegation of French lawmakers is scheduled to visit Tehran this Friday, ICANA news agency reported.

The six-member delegation will meet Majlis Speaker Ali Larijani and a number of other senior lawmakers to explore ways to expand parliamentary cooperation between Iran and France.

Follow us on Twitter @TRENDNewsAgency