U.S., Russian, French presidents to make statement on Nagorno-Karabakh conflict

Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict Materials 25 May 2011 17:24 (UTC +04:00)

The U.S., Russian and French presidents will make a statement on the Armenian-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict within the G8 summit in Deauville.

The summit's international agenda includes the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict settlement.

A joint tripartite declaration is being prepared for the summit, Russian Presidential Aide Sergei Prikhodko said, RIA Novosti reported.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. Armenian armed forces have occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan since 1992, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and 7 surrounding districts.

Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group - Russia, France, and the U.S. - are currently holding the peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the U.N. Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh region and the occupied territories.