OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs to arrive in Yerevan on November 4

Armenia Materials 1 November 2013 17:35 (UTC +04:00)

OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs Jacques Faure (France), Igor Popov (Russia) and James Warlick (USA) will arrive in Yerevan on November 4, Armenia Today reported.

It is planned to hold meetings during the visit with Armenian president Serzh Sargsyan and Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian. A visit to the occupied Azerbaijani territories is not planned for this time.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. Armenian armed forces have occupied 20 per cent of Azerbaijan since 1992, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the U.S. are currently holding peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the U.N. Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.